Under the Royal Canadian Mounted Police Act, any province may enter into an agreement with the Dominion Government for the services of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police, to enforce provincial laws and the Criminal Code, upon payment for its services, and at the present time such agreements are in force with the Provinces of Prince Edward Island, Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, Manitoba, Saskatchewan and Alberta.

The Force is controlled and administered by a Minister of the Crown (at present, the Minister of Justice). From a Force of 300 in 1873, it had a strength on Mar. 31, 1944, of 4,470, consisting of 96 officers, 2,659 non-commissioned officers and constables, 113 ordinary special constables, 1,519 special constable guards, 28 security personnel (not including police personnel) and 55 men assigned from the National Selective Service. It has a Reserve strength of 599, located principally in the larger cities, such as Toronto, Winnipeg, Halifax, Montreal, Edmonton and Calgary.

The Force is organized into 13 Divisions of varying strength distributed over the entire country, and its means of transport consist of 141 saddle horses, 839 motor-vehicles and 302 sleigh dogs.

The term of engagement is five years for recruits, with re-enlistment for a period not exceeding five years. The training course, which is of six months' duration or longer, consists of drill, physical training—including instruction in wrestling, boxing and jiu-jitsu—and police duties, both Dominion and Provincial. The principal training centres are at Regina, Sask., and at Rockcliffe, Ont., at each of which there is an up-to-date scientific laboratory.

The Force furnished one Provost Company consisting of approximately 185 men to the Canadian Active Army overseas and, at the outbreak of the War, transferred its Marine Section, consisting of some 32 vessels and over 200 men, to the Royal Canadian Navy. Its small Aviation Section, consisting of 4 aircraft and personnel, was also handed over to the Royal Canadian Air Force.

Section 6.---The Civil Service of Canada

Organization.*—An outline of the development of the Civil Service and the organization of the Civil Service Commission is given at pp. 960-961 of the 1941 Year Book.

Since the outbreak of war, many new departments and branches of Government have been formed which, being set up under the War Measures Act, are not automatically governed by the provisions of the Civil Service Act. Nevertheless, an Order in Council was passed on Apr. 19, 1940, providing that "the authority vested in the Governor in Council under the War Measures Act to make appointments and otherwise deal with personnel shall, unless the Treasury Board otherwise directs, be exercised subject to the approval of the Treasury Board and after investigation of need and rates of pay by the Civil Service Commission" The Order further

^{*} Revised by Miss E. Saunders, Secretary, Civil Service Commission, Ottawa.